Huck Finn question for English teachers

Discussion in 'High School' started by ambritlit, Mar 24, 2008.

1. ambritlit

ambritlit Companion

Mar 24, 2008

How do you handle the N-word in class discussions and reading? We are starting this book next week, and I feel the need to set some parameters before we begin. I already have some African American students asking why we are reading this, etc... I plan on addressing these concerns to the best of my ability, but I sense that some kids are already digging in their heels to turn this into a racial issue.

I've already told them, that just as we may come across other offensive words in literature, this is no excuse to use those words. Should I just not say it and not allow anyone else to say it?

I don't mean to sound dense, it's just that it's my first year and I'd never want to offend any of my students.

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Mar 24, 2008

You could discuss with them the fact that books written during a certain time period reflected what was going on during that time. Would you have them use a substitute word in its place? Have you asked your department chair or admin?

4. ambritlit

ambritlit Companion

Mar 24, 2008

Thanks. I haven't discussed with anyone at school yet. I guess I wanted to act like I know the proper thing to do! We are on spring break this week, and I'm planning the lessons now. I will ask, though.

5. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Mar 24, 2008

I am not an English teacher but I am certain that Mark Twain used the N word as a commentary of the times - civil war had free the slaves but not really changed for freed slaves in the south. Maybe do some research on why Mark Twain wrote Huck Finn, the reaction of the public to the book when published, the many movements to ban Huck from schools, and present this prior to reading the novel.

6. jbj913

jbj913 Rookie

Mar 24, 2008