HS Poetry Readings

Discussion in 'High School' started by Passion4Teachin, Oct 9, 2008.

1. Passion4Teachin

Passion4Teachin Rookie

Oct 9, 2008

I am a new English teacher and I am thinking about planning a poetry unit where students work on writing poetry (based on modeling from others and creating their own) and then having a public poetry reading at a local coffee shop, etc. Has anyone ever done that? How did it go?

Any advice either on the poetry unit or on the readings. <3 thanks

3. engl78

engl78 Rookie

Oct 9, 2008

Hi! I would suggest researching spoken word or slam poetry events in your city. This type of poetry is great for high school kids, especially in urban communities, and many coffee shops host open-mike nights. Perhaps a coffee shop would agree to hosting a high-school poetry event in your neighborhood? Check out the book link below, I used it to teach spoken word and the kids LOVED it. If you want more ideas/information about it, let me know.

(http://www.sourcebooks.com/products...oken-word-revolution-redux-with-audio-cd.html

a teaching link, too:
    http://stanfordspokenword.com/workshop.htm

4. GatorGal

GatorGal Cohort

Oct 9, 2008

I haven't personally done anything like that, but it sounds fun!

A fellow English teacher last year had an "Open-Mic Poetry Reading" during class. She transformed the classroom into a cafe. The kids really liked it.

5. mshutchinson

mshutchinson Comrade

Oct 10, 2008

The librarian in my school did it a few years ago. It was a nice event, but not well attended.

6. ELA 11 12

ELA 11 12 Companion

Oct 10, 2008

Here's a great poetry link: http://www.loc.gov/poetry/180/

I also suggest having them practice some of Gertrude Stein's poems in class. Great tongue exercises and depending on the age, some of the students may find some meaning.

Do a search on youtube if you can show clips in class from poetry slams. The students will then have a large variety of models.

Good luck and great idea!

7. Mamacita