how you talk to your students

Discussion in 'General Education' started by TeacherBug08, Jan 24, 2014.

1. TeacherBug08

TeacherBug08 Companion

Jan 24, 2014

Im a first year teacher looking for advice. I feel like my classroom management isn't bad for my first year. I never raise my voice, but when my class as a whole doesn't do well I think I do talk with a frustrated tone/lecture. I have one teacher that says when your students/student misbehave you hive it back to them times 10 with management- in terms of consequences. Do you ever catch yourself talking o your students in a nagging frustrating tone?

3. riverdance85

riverdance85 Rookie

Jan 24, 2014

Always follow through with your CM plan and be consistent. I have been teaching for over two years and sometimes I talk in a frustrated tone. It's not advisable to do it often, or at all. Be firm, and hide your buttons! They will try very hard to find them and push them, but don't let minor annoyances get to you. That takes practice. I am also mastering this trait as a teacher.

Bottom line is to stick to your established consequences and don't back down. If you do, reestablishing control gets tricky.

4. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Jan 24, 2014

I used too. During my first few years, I was constantly frustrated/upset/miserable and at times, this would come out in my attitude/tone. Not so much yelling, but I was snippy and always giving the evil eye or rolling my eyes. What changed is that I came to accept (after a convo with Admin) that many of things in my district that drive me crazy just are what they are and if I was expecting something else, I had to get out of teaching in Baltimore (which is not a financial option).