How tough is statistics?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Peachyness, Jan 9, 2009.

1. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Jan 9, 2009

So, what is the probability thatI will flunk my statistics class? :D

In order to get into the university for my second science degree, I just need to meet 3 more requirements (chem, physics, and MAYBE statistics). I'm meeting with the counselor in person who will help me figure out my plan. So, I may end up having to take statistics this semester at my local college. How tough is statistics? I never really took statistics. Just a little bit in high school. I heard that it is a really tough class and that freaked me out. I didn't think it would be THAT tough. :eek:hmy:

3. TennisPlayer

TennisPlayer Cohort

Jan 9, 2009

I had to take 3 statistic classes (in order) for my BA in Psychology and the 2nd and 3rd were hard even though I studied a lot. I say it depends because I think there are different kinds of statistic classes for different degrees. Best advice....find some people to study with!!! The formulas were hard to make sense of but I managed.

4. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jan 9, 2009

I know someone on here that would stay stats is easy! ;) If you do have to take it, mmswm would be a great tutor.

5. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Jan 9, 2009

I took one statistics class in college, at a community college. It was super easy; however, my sister, who is great with math (I am not) took a statistics class at the university level and she says it was a tough class. Most of the reason for that, though, was because the teacher did not explain things clearly, so she got dealt a pretty rotten teacher. With that all said, I think the content itself is pretty easy (hey, I'm an English gal and I aced the class), but it depends on who is instructing the course, and which level of statistics you are taking.

6. bonneb

bonneb Fanatic

Jan 9, 2009