how to teach core values

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by bholm83, Aug 29, 2019.

1. bholm83

bholm83 Rookie

Aug 29, 2019

Hi Everyone,

I'm a middle school health teacher, and this year with my incoming 6th graders I want to begin the year with a discussion over core values, why they are important, how they guide important decision making etc. My question is: has anyone created a successful lesson that really engages kids with learning about their values? I'm thinking about presenting 'what would you do?' scenarios to the students, to help them discover what is important to them.

In the past I haven't spent much time on this, and when I did I'd usually get the typically answers, family, sports, video games. Trying to get them to reflect deeper obviously :)

This article also has some good questions students can answer....

https://www.edutopia.org/blog/helping-your-students-identify-their-values-maurice-elias

Any and all ideas are welcome.

3. Loomistrout

Loomistrout Devotee

Aug 29, 2019

Consider a readiness activity to find out what students already know (or don’t) about core values. A brainstorm list could be generated on the board from students' responses with little regard for correctness (preface with no inappropriate stuff) which they copy. If they can’t come up with much you prime the pump with your own to get them started. After the list is generated - 20 or more - lead the class to come up with 4-5 (judgment) core values. Write these on the board. If they aren’t sure you make a list of about 8 with some no-nos on it and have students choose correct ones while discarding the others. Place a number by each core value 1-5. Next, have students go back over their brainstorm list and put a number 1-5 next to each term that seems to fit one of the core value terms and go together. Terms that don’t fit any are left blank.