How to start subbing in California

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by Ms.Blank, May 30, 2014.

1. Ms.Blank

Ms.Blank Companion

May 30, 2014

Hi, all. I'm trying to get my substitute teaching permit in California...more specifically Orange County. I'm a bit confused about the process, as I've read different things online as to how to go about it. I've already got a bachelor's degree, and I've taken the CBEST. Now, I know I have to get livescan fingerprinted.

I was under the assumption that I send the following to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialling: filled out application, transcripts to prove I have a bachelor's degree, CBEST results, processing fee, and completed livescan receipt. I was going to go to my college and get livescanned, bringing the livescan forms I got on the CCTC website. I see that information here http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/leaflets/cl505p.pdf

But... I need to get livescanned at the Orange County Department of Education, as well, if I want to substitute for any of the districts in OC. That's fine, but their website says that I need to bring in livescan forms for the agency employing me (I'm looking here http://www.ocde.us/SupportServices/Pages/Credentialing-and-Fingerprinting-Services.aspx ). I don't have anyone employing me; I just want the OCDE livescan done! Some of the listings on edjoin.edu say they want the OCDE livescan results in the application packet to apply for sub positions, as well, so this leads me to believe that I can in fact get this done before actually getting hired anywhere. I see an ad that says they want the OCDE livescan here https://www.edjoin.org/viewPosting.aspx?postingID=564759&countyID=30&onlineApp=1