how to show energy and enthusiasm

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by brandy, Aug 24, 2009.

1. brandy

brandy Rookie

Aug 24, 2009

o.k. so i still haven't gotten any interviews but i can't seem to stop thinking about past interviews that i have had that did not work out. So, i thought i would try to be constructive (in a way). Last year i had an interview that i thought went really well (made it to the 2nd round) but did not get the job. In an email I asked the principal for feedback and she said in an email that i gave strong answers and that it is clear that i am a good teacher but she is also looking for someone with more energy and enthusiasm. Does it mean that she just didn't like my personality? i do have a quiet demeanor (not mousey though) and i can get nervous, but i tried very hard to speak up with confidence and elaborate on my answers. I gave eye contact and tried to smile. Also, i am much different both in the classroom with children and when i am not having to prove myself during an interview. She said that she could tell that i am a good teacher with strong answers, shouldn't that be enough?
    So my question is, how do you show energy and enthusiasm when you are sitting there answering question after question with about 5 people watching you and writing down notes about what you say? How do you show energy and enthusiasm when explaining something as general as how you assess students or form reading groups (just an example)? Any suggestions or ideas to help me improve upon this without changing my whole personality (which i personally think is pretty good) i really am trying to understand this better for when i finally get another chance. In the classroom i will get down on the floor and be silly with them, how do i project this with adults during an interview, if this is what "energy and enthusiasm means". thanks

3. SCTeachInTX

SCTeachInTX Fanatic

Aug 24, 2009