How to respond when a parent says this?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Swetha, Jul 20, 2013.

1. Swetha

Swetha Rookie

Jul 20, 2013

I am a rising sophomore in college and I just finished a summer internship at a literacy camp for 6th-9th graders. I had a good time with the kids, and things went well over all. I definitely learned a lot about teaching and leadership.

However, I look very young. I'm only about 5'1 and I have a baby face. Meeting the parents was awful because every time they visited, I would get comments like "I thought you were one of the kids!" Yesterday, a parent asked how old I was, and I said I was 18. She looked shocked and said "I thought you were 12!" I was mortified, so I just walked away. However, this hasn't really been a problem with the kids since they knew who I was. Does anyone have advice on how to respond to parents like this?

3. chebrutta

chebrutta Enthusiast

Jul 20, 2013

I got a lot of those comments when I first started teaching. Just smile and say something cute, like "Thank you! Let's hope I still look younger than i really am when I hit 50!"

4. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Jul 20, 2013

Yeah, you gotta let it slide right off.

5. 1st-yr-teacher

1st-yr-teacher Comrade

Jul 20, 2013

When I was hired for my first job, I hadn't met the second assistant principal. My literacy coach was going over some things with me when he walked by and she introduced me to him. He thought I was a high schooler...and I was 25 years old! Lol. You will just have to let that stuff slide and remind yourself it will be nice later on in life.

6. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast

Jul 20, 2013

I'm 29 and still look really young. It also doesn't help that my students go up to age 22.
    You just have to let it roll off. I now know when it's a parent or community day, I need to wear a staff shirt!

7. Rebel1

Rebel1 Connoisseur

Jul 20, 2013