How to prioritize?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by HorseLover, Oct 4, 2013.

1. HorseLover

HorseLover Comrade

Oct 4, 2013

I'm a first year teacher and worn out! (par for the course I know :lol:). I have heard many tips about needing to know when to say "enough" for the night or weekend and just spend some personal time. My question is how do you decide that when it seems everything is a "do now" task? :dizzy: I'm often at school late, taking work home, and working on weekends yet still feeling like it's difficult to even imagine leaving semi on-time even once during the week. Any tips/suggestions on prioritizing or even tips that help make accomplishing tasks (like planning, grading, paperwork, etc) move more quickly smoothly? I'm starting to feel pretty frazzled and worn out and don't think I am accomplishing everything I should be doing as it is. :(

Thanks!

3. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Oct 4, 2013

I am not in exactly the same situation as you, but definitely know how you feel. I have spent the last couple of years constantly feeling behind because I am balancing 2 jobs.

I did something new for myself this year which seems to be working. I made myself a chart or checklist that lists everything I need to get done at the end of first job before I go to the second. The top part lists all the things I need to do daily, and the bottom lists a couple of tasks to do on individual days so I spread them out all week and don't leave them for Friday (or next week or never or....). I don't know why, but just having the list has helped keep me on track. I compare it to my mother-in-law who always did laundry on Monday, shopping on Wednesday, dusting on Friday, etc. Sometimes just having a routine helps.