How to prevent teacher burn out?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by gingerbread, Oct 16, 2009.

1. gingerbread

gingerbread Rookie

Oct 16, 2009

I have been a preschool teacher for about 4 years, by choice. I have education in healthcare but I found that I didn't get the same enjoyment that I did with daycare. The only problem is that I'm getting so exhausted. How many is too many hours? Do any of you work the full 12 hrs a day? I have a 2 hr lunch but still find myself very overwhelmed. I'ts a different kind of exhausted. More emotional stress. I have a hard time sleeping because I'm thinking about all the things that went on during the day. I know that I'm a good teacher I make sure that I give everychild as many kind words and encouragement as I can. But when you have the same Late parents, no pay parents, parents who don't bring diapers or lunches, who throw the kids tattlers and art work in the trash on the way out the door. How do you not feel like a door mat. Why are we treated like babysitters or worse like a drop off service? Parents who run wild and wonder why their children are so bad. Some parents leave their kids 10=12 hrs a day and when they pick them up they act like the kids are a burden. Do you think I'll get out of this rut? Or is it time to move on? I don't want to, I feel the kids need me.

3. Blue

Blue Aficionado

Oct 16, 2009

Sounds familar. Child Care is a burn out profession. I have no wonderful suggestions. Put yourself first, do me things, and have a good life.

4. shellie1619

shellie1619 Rookie

Oct 17, 2009

I have found that going to the gym helps me. I am able to sweat out all of my stress at the end of the day. Just try to remember to take time for yourself and as far as not sleeping, I keep a paper and a pencil at my bedside and write down what is keeping me awake and then I push it out of my mind because I know it is then written down for me to look at it later.

5. Rebel1

Rebel1 Connoisseur

Oct 17, 2009

Ginderbread,