How to overcome extreme anxiety with sub jobs?

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by SnowBubble, Mar 24, 2014.

1. SnowBubble

SnowBubble New Member

Mar 24, 2014

Hello guys! I'm a noob here. I just recently started subbing and my first job was a disaster. (I subbed a middle school for an art teacher) and the kids were really rude and hard to maintain. It was even harder because it was my very FIRST time ever trying to teach/lead a classroom. I cancelled the assignment about 5 days in because it was just stressing me out way too much. (The original art teacher had left for another job so it was a vacancy. I couldn't just be like "Hey! I'l leave a note for the teacher if you do bad and don't listen". It was a free for all, ugh...)

I'm also kinda wondering if I have some sorta anxiety disorder as well...but I've noticed being a substitute teacher means you're gonna walk in a classroom or school and be pretty clueless about what to expect (and it just makes me more and more anxious to the point where I feel sick)

Did/does any one else feel this way? Does it slowly subside the more you do it? Should I get anxiety meds, lol? I LIKE to know as much as I can about a job before I go into it but I know its not always (if rarely) going to happen...

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Mar 24, 2014

How do you define "extreme anxiety"?

If you do think you have an anxiety disorder, you really need to be talking with your doctor.

4. Math

Math Cohort

Mar 24, 2014

I don't know about how you should feel. All I know is tthatbeing a substitute teacher is no walk in the park. Especially since the students know you are not a main teacher within the building and you would not really know how that teacher handles the class. This is why I know for a fact I l could never be a substitute teacher.

5. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Mar 24, 2014