How to organize lunch count?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Crys68, Aug 29, 2007.

1. Crys68

Crys68 Rookie

Aug 29, 2007

Hi folks...I'm a new teacher at a school where the children have to decide which meal they will have every morning and if they brought a lunch from home. This week (my first week) I've been asking the whole group to raise their hands if...etc...But I need to come up with a clever idea that they can choose themselves in the am. I would like to be able to see what everyone chose because I'm having some "switheroo's" once lunch time comes and they are promising that is what they asked for, when I know they didn't.

Thanks in advance for suggestions,
    Chris

3. iteachm123

iteachm123 Comrade

Aug 29, 2007

Maybe you can make a chart ahead of time and just run off copies for each day. You can have 3 columns: meal ______, meal _______, pack. Each student comes to your desk and signs in whichever they chose. Then you have written proof when it's time for lunch.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 29, 2007

I used to have plastic cups with picture and word labels contact papered onto them. (a cup with a lunch box for those who brought lunch, a pizza picture cup, a sandwich picture cup...You get the idea...) When the kids came in in the morning they would get their popsicle stick with their name on and pop their stick in the cup to show what lunch they were getting. Whatever sticks are left over are the absent kids (or the ones who forgot to indicate lunch preference!!)

5. jennyd

jennyd Companion

Aug 29, 2007

I just set up a very similar system in my classroom. Mine is a poster with the 3 lunch options (lunch from home, hot lunch, bagel). I put velcro on the poster and the kids will have little wooden spoons (like the kind you'd eat a dixie cup ice cream with) that they move to the appropriate column. If there spoon isn't moved over, they're either absent or forgot to indicate their lunch.