How to Organize...everything

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Teach in Tampa, May 1, 2008.

1. Teach in Tampa

Teach in Tampa Rookie

May 1, 2008

This is my first year teaching and I have had a difficult time trying to organize everything. I am currently storing my teacher resources (i.e. lesson plans, worksheets, etc.) in binders using page protectors. I am not 100% sold on this method. I have wondered if Rubbermaid drawers or file folders would be better.

Also, I haven't figured out whether to save these resources by theme or by month. I'm concerned that if I save them by the month, I won't be able to find a specific theme if I want to use it during another time of the year. On the other hand, I fear that saving resources by theme will make lesson planning more complicated next year since I won't remember what order I presented the material.

I am looking for some feedback and suggestions. I'd love to hear methods and tips from the experts in regards to organization. :help: Thanks in advance!

3. MrsPatten

MrsPatten Comrade

May 2, 2008

I'm not an expert at all but I'll see if I can help. A lot of the stuff we do in lower elementary is based on either the season or what our reading/math programs tell us to cover. Therefore, chances are, you'll cover the same topics at about the same time. I'd put it in order by month. If you think you might want to do something at a different time get the binders with the pocket on the front. Organize by month but put on the front what all topics are in the binder. Then you won't have to sort through them to find what's in there.

We're getting a new reading program next year and we're organizing our reading, grammar, science and social studies by week according to our new program.

4. little317

little317 Groupie

May 2, 2008