How to not get discouraged

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Futureteacher08, Mar 17, 2015.

1. Futureteacher08

Futureteacher08 Rookie

Mar 17, 2015

Hi,
    So I will graduate in May with my degree in Elementary Education. I am getting very nervous about finding a job, as my supervisors and teachers have told me that I will have no trouble finding a job as they say I'm an outstanding teacher from what they've seen me work.

However, I'm starting to doubt that. I have already applied for a couple of jobs, but just heard that they had been filled, but to keep my eye open for the district as there may be future openings.

How do I keep from letting that bring me down? I just feel as if I wont find a job..

3. mkbren88

mkbren88 Cohort

Mar 17, 2015

It is still way early in the year. Many places don't even know who all is returning next year yet. When I was job hunting last, I started the last week of May and was hired the second week of June. Keep applying but don't give up.

4. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Mar 18, 2015

Make sure your resume is top notch, perfect your letter of interest/introduction, assemble your letters of recommendation, look at Applitrack, or whatever online application process is common in your area, and truly look at the essay questions that are common. Spend some time perfecting your answers, reflect on them.

Having done those things, you then grow a tough skin. Depending on where you are, it could be easy or time consuming to find a position. If you are easily discouraged after just a couple of applications, this is going to be a stressful time for you. I would suggest perfecting a couple of demo lessons, complete with lesson plans, that you can go to without having to stress over that - you will have more confidence.

Good luck - this is not for the faint of heart, but I believe it is worth the effort.

5. bros

bros Phenom

Mar 18, 2015