How to Motivate a Failing Student?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Catsey85, Feb 29, 2016.

1. Catsey85

Catsey85 Guest

Feb 29, 2016

I am a new teacher who teaches math intervention to 4th grade students. Throughout the school year I have seen many students improve in their classwork and attitude towards learning. However I, as well as the fourth grade teachers, have a student who has never been motivated to work. The fourth grade teachers change homerooms to teach math, reading, science, and social studies. The reading intervention teacher and myself both work with this unmotivated student who is failing. When approached the student lowers his head and shrugs when asked a question. When discussing his grades he replies that he knows he is going to fail, but does not care because he can't be held back again (he was previously held back in an earlier grade). What methods can be used in order to motivate a student who knows he is going to fail, yet does not care?

SHF likes this.
  3. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Feb 29, 2016

Wow, I've got nothing but some questions. Have you talked to guidance? I would want to know something about the family dynamics where a fourth grader is resigned to failing without any regret.