How to handle disrespect?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by riverdance85, Sep 29, 2013.

1. riverdance85

riverdance85 Rookie

Sep 29, 2013

I have been teaching now for almost three years, but I still get upset when a student disrespects me. I know its the group I have...but how do other teachers deal with being disrespected? Talking to the student and parents help, but yet disrespect persists. They sass and whine. I find it hard to be tough with them because I've had parents call me to apologize to students when I've been too hard. Suggestions? I reckon I should just face it everyday and keep talking to disrespectful kids and calling parents. My issue is that I find it hard to stop thinking about the next possible time it could happen...and I get so down! I am always happy and cheery in my classroom and try to instill enthusiasm in my students.

Thanks!
    HS Spanish teacher.

3. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Sep 29, 2013

Blatant disrespect gets called out, right then and there. Just as I would someone throwing something across the room, shouting out answers and such. I'd also have the offender stay after class and speak to me about his behavior. If it happened a second time I'd call his parents in for a conference, not just speak over the phone and the child would be assigned a detention. Third time would be an office referral.

4. Ron6103

Ron6103 Habitué

Sep 29, 2013