How to explain to parents that a disability is not something to be cured

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Joanna, Mar 17, 2012.

1. Joanna

Joanna New Member

Mar 17, 2012

Good day to you all!

I am an aspiring teacher and as I begin to explore the world of teaching, I began to have so many questions in my head. In order not to limit my resources to just those who are close to me, I decided to expand my search for answers.

And so now I ask one of my questions to you.

As a teacher, it is our duty to answer any question that the parents of the students will have. This is especially hard if you're teaching special education. As all the special ed teachers and advocates know, a disability is not something that will go away; it will be present throughout a person's life.

If a parent expresses hope or expectation that their child will be "cured" with constant therapy and medication, how do you correct this notion without offending or hurting the parent's feeling, or most especially, without loosing the parent's trust?

I'd like to thank in advance anyone who will help me in knowledge search. :)

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Mar 17, 2012

Wouldn't that be something for the doctor to tell the parents? It seems like it's beyond the scope of practice of the teacher because it pertains to medical issues.

4. Joanna

Joanna New Member

Mar 17, 2012

thank you for the insightful reply :) but if I may, can I ask a follow-up question: What if the parents tell you "he will be healed, right teacher? I only have to continue the therapies". What would be the best reply then?
    Thank you in advance again for you answer.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Mar 17, 2012

"That's a question better suited for your doctor."

6. Joanna

Joanna New Member

Mar 17, 2012

that is a very sensible reply. thank you so much for bearing with my questioning.

7. lovebeingteach

lovebeingteach Companion

Mar 17, 2012