How to deal with teachers taking my ideas...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by newkgteacher, Aug 23, 2015.

1. newkgteacher

newkgteacher Rookie

Aug 23, 2015

I teach at a small, private school. Despite the fact that I am only beginning my third year of teaching, I am considered a veteran of the group because of the turnover rate. The teachers this year are all new and most of them do not have elementary teaching experience.

I tried to be helpful by sharing my ideas, but I quickly discovered that instead of just using my ideas to create some of their own, the other teachers have instead just taken the exact ideas. I've walked into rooms that look almost exactly like mine. But, the straw that broke the camel's back was hearing that another teacher will be using the exact same Class Dojo reward system that I am using (students can advance in martial arts belts after earning a set number of points).

I understand taking ideas from teachers not in the same school (I've gotten ideas from Pinterest), but now my ideas are not mine at my own school.

How would you go about dealing with this? I don't think that the other teachers understand what they are doing; they are just trying to survive. But, it's really agitating for me.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 23, 2015

Take it as a compliment. They see you as a mentor and coach. Better to have colleagues who are united and 'on the same page' than being proprietary, alone and not sharing. I'm sure once your new colleagues are feeling more secure and confident, they will have plenty of ideas they will gladly share with you! :thumb:

4. jadorelafrance

jadorelafrance Cohort

Aug 23, 2015