How to deal with inappropriate comments from students?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Letuseat56, Jun 12, 2019.

1. Letuseat56

Letuseat56 New Member

Jun 12, 2019

I’m a recent college grad, 22 years old and will be starting my teaching placement this year. For the last few months I’ve been subbing at a school before I start my training. This school isn’t the best, it’s a rough school with a low pass rate and the majority of kids coming from low income backgrounds. The major problem I’m dealing with is inappropriate comments from the boys. It started off with the ‘your hot’, writing their numbers on the work, looking me up and down in the hallway or when I entered the room. However, it slowly escalated to saying extremely inappropriate things in lessons, female students would tell me some of the disgusting things the boys say in their study periods about me, in lessons they would comment on my body, compare their physiques to my husbands (they would flex their muscles and ask if my husband had muscles as big as theres???), ask me to sit on their laps. Boys would cheer when I entered the room cos that meant I was subbing for them. I’ve stopped subbing at that school because honestly I felt extremely uncomfortable teaching some students there and I felt the school wasn’t dealing with the situation seriously enough. However, in the new term I will be training with a school that is similar to it (pretty rough, not the best grades etc.) I really don’t want to go through the same sort of issue at my training school because at one point the subbing experience put me off teaching (I was on the verge of withdrawing my application at my training school.) I knew that with being really young I would get a few comments but wasn’t expecting anything like this. Is there any advice that someone can give me in dealing with the issue. My response at the last one was going straight to administration but do you think I should be calling out the behaviour more myself?