How to deal with a teacher who oversteps bounds

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Larant, Apr 6, 2010.

1. Larant

Larant New Member

Apr 6, 2010

My sister's friend from church committed suicide and the funeral was held during the school day. After the funeral, she went out with some other teens from the church to Ponderosa where the chorus teacher saw them.

The chorus teacher reported her for skipping. When my sister told her she had been returning from a funeral, the teacher responded 'Well you obviously weren't that upset about it to be talking and laughing with your friends.'

The next week, this same teacher was telling the other students that she caught my sister skipping school.

I get the impression this teacher is power crazed - after all I found out she tried to get me suspended for skipping school two years after I graduated because she saw me in town during the the school day. (and she even had me in her class as a senior)

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 6, 2010

This is an interesting first post...

Did your sister bring a note from home excusing her from school for the funeral? That should clear up any misconception on the teacher's part.

4. Larant

Larant New Member

Apr 6, 2010

Yes - she had turned it in beforehand and been on the excused list for the day of the funeral. The teacher is aware of that.

5. Cerek

Cerek Aficionado

Apr 6, 2010

I'm not sure there is much you can do about the callously ignorant statement she made to your sister. However, you could go to the principal about the accusation of your sister skipping school and explain this same teacher tried to report you for skipping school two years after you graduated.