How to become a substitute teacher in CA

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ignacio, Apr 8, 2019.

1. Ignacio

Ignacio New Member

Apr 8, 2019

Hello Everyone,

My name is Ignacio and I am new. Just like everyone else who has made their way to this forum I need help. I would like to become a substitute teacher while I figure out my next step in life. I have gone to the CTC website and looked at the "How to submit a Paper Application" page, but when I start reading I get lost, confuzzled (confused) and to be honest intimidated. I have filled out a form 41-4, I have a certificate of clearance (whatever that means), I have been fingerprinted, but what do I do next? I mean do I send the finger print paper work in with my 41-4 form? I know I need transcripts. I ordered the transcripts today and they should arrive in a couple of weeks. I have a bachelor's degree in Psychology and I passed the CBEST in December. I will be calling my doctor to complete a TB test hopefully within the next couple of weeks. Is anyone willing to walk me through the rest of the process, hold my hand? It's not easy for me to ask for help because I've always done things on my own and I am usually a very capable person, but I just feel lost in this process. I really don't want to mess up the paper work because if I read correctly any mistakes or changes will incur a new processing fee and having been out of work for a while I don't have the ability to pay for every mistake that I will likely make.

Would any of you have suggestions about which colleges to attend near the Azusa/Covina/Glendora area? I applied at university of La Verne for their Masters in Educational counseling program but have not heard back form them. Cal Poly Pomona only had a credentialing program. I would like to start looking at other schools. The degree in educational counseling seemed to suit my interest more than teaching in a class.