How to avoid teacher burnout?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by vivalavida, Sep 28, 2014.

1. vivalavida

vivalavida Companion

Sep 28, 2014

Hello! I am a first-year teacher drowning with work...nights, weekends, all the time! I try to take one day completely off of work each weekend, but my Sundays are FULL work days. It's completely exhausting. I know the first year is supposed to be the worst, and all these materials I'm creating will be ready to grab in future years (hopefully), but does anyone have any tips or tricks to save time!? I have seen posts from several of you who have mentioned that you leave work at school and don't bring it home. I just don't see how that could ever be possible, even after a few years! Looking for any advice...as I don't want to be another teacher to completely burn out in the first couple of years!

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Sep 28, 2014

• Borrow from other teachers.
    • Borrow from web sites (AtoZ, Share My Lesson, and Teachers Pay Teachers are excellent resources).
    • Take time for yourself, including having at least one non-school hobby. Right now I'm in grad school, but when I'm done at the end of next month, I'm going back into the local amateur theater scene.

4. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Sep 28, 2014

I wish I could answer this question...pulling 80-90+ hour weeks thus far myself. My team (and everyone else around me) keeps telling me to find a balance, but I have no idea what that looks like :)

5. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Sep 28, 2014

One way to lesson your load is to grade fewer assignments, grade some in class with students, grade fewer questions on the test ( math, for instance. 2 or 3 problems of the same type would tell you if the concept is mastered). Give classroom participation grades, completion grades for homework.

6. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Sep 28, 2014