How to avoid exhaustion / going crazy near end of the day?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by CajunNewJersey, May 31, 2014.

1. CajunNewJersey

CajunNewJersey Rookie

May 31, 2014

Hello fellow teachers / aspiring ones,

I've been a fourth grade teacher for two and a half years now. While my first year was rough, my second year was much better. This year behavior has been excellent. I attribute this to constant contact with parents as well as exercising soft teacher power instead of always the harshest possible. If that doesn't make sense, excuse me. That's not the point of this thread. heh

Anyway, I teach from 8:00 to 3:45. My problem is that as the hotter the weather gets (we have no AC, just a fan), and the later it gets before 3:45, the more irrational I get in my judgments. That's the blunt of the problem. For example, for the past two days I made some boner decisions that I had to backtrack it. And since classroom management is partly about students feeling the teacher knows what she or he's doing, all this is a problem.

My knee jerk reaction would be apologize and get over with it. But that won't fix the big problem. Besides having them read / do homework for the last twenty minutes when the weather is hot because Mr. "X" is having his spells again, what do you do to combat this kind of problem? (tldr; How do teachers combat moments where they can't think at all due to heat / long day, which causes dumb decisions you normally don't do).

Respectfully,

3. ScienceEd

ScienceEd Companion

May 31, 2014

drink more water because you are probably dehydrated and that will help....

then when asked a question, answer with "what do you think?"

that allows the student to think of a response and you to decide if you agree or disagree with their reasoning.

perhaps preplan that last hour ahead of time to eliminate the need for too much thinking at the end of the day?

get some fans for the classroom

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

May 31, 2014