How should I take this?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Futureteacher08, Nov 6, 2015.

1. Futureteacher08

Futureteacher08 Rookie

Nov 6, 2015

so I'm a brand new teacher and Everyone is always like oh you're so great at what you do. Well, today I was talking to the lead teacher and told her I would like to view someone and she's like well what for. I told her to get new ideas. She's like for what, and I said well you've seen me teach so what you think I could work on. She's like oh go see this teacher! And this teacher is brand new teaching (but has been subbing for a few years) I just feel inadequate, thoughts?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Nov 6, 2015

So you said that you wanted to observe another teacher and someone suggested that you should observe a particular teacher? I don't see what the problem here is.

4. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Nov 6, 2015

Everyone has different strengths. I would guess this particular teacher was suggested because she is strong in an area you want to improve.

5. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Nov 7, 2015

If you're a brand new teacher; I am sure you can learn something from observing another teacher. If people have been saying you're great, then why feel inadequate when your Lead Teacher said nothing to the contrary?

Don't stress over what you don't have to.

6. jadorelafrance

jadorelafrance Cohort

Nov 7, 2015

I think this person feels inadequate because they were told to observe another brand new teacher. I wouldn't want to observe a brand new teacher as a new teacher. Even now I'm not going to observe a new teacher unless they're doing something cool/innovative, I'd want to see a veteran teacher whose got classroom management down, has down certain teaching strategies that I want to implement, and is an all around expert in the specialty area.