How should I best prepare for my next school year?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Radical Dreamer, Jul 21, 2018.

1. Radical Dreamer

Radical Dreamer Rookie

Jul 21, 2018

I have just finished two very rough years first years of teaching. For my first year, I was a substitute teacher for the first 6 weeks, until I practically fell into my first teaching job, where I had to take over a class that only had substitute teachers before me. It was a mess. There were some major behavior issues in the class and it felt like I had to learn everything all at once, since starting late gave me a lot of added time pressure. From the time I got there, grades were due in only 4 weeks, with parent teacher conferences only 1 week after that.

Since I started out as a long term sub, I was only paid the full salary of a teacher for half of the year, and I had to work during the summer because I couldn't afford not to. I went into my second school year already burnt out. I was rehired one working day before the school year started, and for the first five weeks, my second year of teaching was going just fine...

Until my district removed me from my class and placed me at a totally different school in the 6th week. I found myself in roughly the same situation I was in the year before: taking over a very behaviorally challenging class that only had subs before me, with the time pressure of grades and conferences coming up very soon. It ended up being even worse than my first year because the cumulative stress of going right back into a job like this with no break was getting to me.