How selective should you be?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by CDOR79, May 26, 2020.

1. CDOR79

CDOR79 Comrade

May 26, 2020

I’m currently and ELA middle school teacher. This is my first year of doing so. My principal basically put me in the spot; I didn’t ask for it and truthfully, wasn’t even wanting to but of course- I did as I was told to have a job...lol. I’m not crazy about the age and of all subjects..lol. Ive never been a big fan of ELA. Before this year, I taught 3 to 5th grades for 11 years and would LOVE to return to that age group.

I applied to a district a few days ago for a fourth grade position. The same district called me yesterday saying they saw my resume on the job site and asked if I’m
    interested in interviewing for a middle
    School ELA Special education teacher. I agreed and have one today at 2pm.

My question is, since I’m not in dire need to switch (I do still have a job at my private school), but have been trying to get a
    job in a PS for SO long, how selective should I be? Do I take anything I can get at this point to get my foot in the door- even if I’m really not wanting to teach a certain subject/grade? Do I make that known during the interview?Im wondering if I should say I applied for a fourth grade position, which I’d prefer to have...?

3. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

May 26, 2020

I suppose I'd consider the value. For the time being, do I value the grade/subject or the move to a new school?

If I were trying to switch to a district and it'd been a long attempt, I might open up what I'd take in order to make the move.

4. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

May 26, 2020