How satisfying is the job?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Orange1211, Mar 26, 2010.

1. Orange1211

Orange1211 New Member

Mar 26, 2010

:)Hi! Im a student teacher and I also have a child, so I wonder if you really love teaching and why? If you have a family, does your job let you spend quality time with your family or are u constantly stressed out and busy thinking about lessons?

3. atomic

atomic Companion

Mar 26, 2010

Constantly stressed out and thinking about lessons, grading papers, calling parents, writing tests, quizzes, classwork and homework...talking to guidance, the nurse, child study teams, police officer, gang resource officer, substance awaremess coordinator...etc.

choose your school carefully...

4. Orange1211

Orange1211 New Member

Mar 26, 2010

But do you still love to teach?

5. Sshintaku

Sshintaku Comrade

Mar 26, 2010

I agree with this, but still love to teach. Although I am also the type of person who constantly has to be busy and involved with a project. Do not think that just because school gets out at 3, you will be heading home at 3. Most days, I have meetings or something after school and don't get home until 6 or 7.

Teaching is emotionally and mentally draining, and you still have to face the challenge of being upbeat and energetic every day for your students. By the time you get home, you are often drained and just want to curl up on the couch.

BUT, if you can balance a busy professional life, you should have no problem with family time and enjoying your profession. I do, and many other teachers do as well.

6. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Mar 26, 2010

I LOVE my job. But I have a husband and 3 kids, and they're my priority.

And, nope, not a lot of stress at all. Once I get home, I only think about my lessons when I'm in planning mode-- it's not on my mind unless I'm actively doing schoolwork.