How On Earth???

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Christina Ard, May 10, 2017.

1. May 10, 2017

I recently went back to school and earned my Elementary Education degree (and I am in my 40s), however, I did it online while holding down a full-time job in a completely unrelated field of work. Because I earned my degree online while working, I was unable to do any student teaching or interning prior to graduation. I will be taking my final certification exam next week, which I hope to pass, and then I will be certified to teach in Florida.
    All of that leads me to my lead question...How on earth do I get my foot in the door since I do not have any formal teaching experience. I am currently at a good job with decent pay and I could just stay at it, however, I would be missing out on my "dream job," the one thing I have always wanted to do with my life.
    I seriously doubt I can walk right into a full-time teaching position, especially since I live in a town with three major colleges/universities so my competition is young and cute and full of energy.
    Any suggestions on how I can get my foot in the door without having to sub (my family needs a steady income). I don't have any contacts in the school system to help me out either.

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

May 10, 2017

You're going to have to sub. Most teachers end up doing that, even with student teaching experience. You don't need any experience to sub, so you won't have a problem getting that job. Sign up for a couple of districts around you so you can work consistently. You probably won't get any jobs now since it's the end of the year, but this is the best time to apply at all districts to get in for next year.
    A lot of subs are not credentialed teachers, so make sure you buy business cards and put on them that you are credentialed.

Backroads likes this.
  4. phillyteacher

phillyteacher Comrade

May 10, 2017