How Often Have You Cried at Work?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ms. I, May 26, 2011.

1. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

May 26, 2011

How many times have you cried at work & what was/were the circumstance(s)?

I've been a sub for a LONG time & nev cried while doing that, but the 1 yr I was an RSP teacher, I cried once at the start of the yr when I was feeling overwhelmed as a brand new 1st yr special ed teacher & my P was trying to foist this afterschool program on me too. The school pscyh & my mentor RSP teacher actually took me to lunch so I could get some fresh air. (I still paid for my food.)

The 2nd time was in Feb of the yr I was th RSP teacher & was told by my P that I wasn't rehired. I didn't actually cry in front of her, but when the union president came to talk to me right after, I briefly cried lightly. Nev cried again due to this situation.

Both times were kind of embarrassing because I didn't want for it to happen, but I couldn't help it.

3. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

May 26, 2011

TOOO many to count :) I cried today as a matter of fact over a gift that my AP students gave me . . .

I have cried
    *when one of my students told me about her cancer
    *when I had to explain to my students why I was going to miss 6 weeks of school while my daughter had brain surgery and recovered
    *when all my AP Euro students passed their AP exams two years ago
    *when reading the book "Ruby Bridges"
    *when two seniors died last year
    *when our science teacher's cancer returned

and there is soooo many more. I am a crier ~ it is what I do. I cry when I am happy, proud, sad and when my students do great things.

4. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

May 26, 2011