How often does writing workshop happen in your class?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by live, Sep 10, 2013.

1. live

live Companion

Sep 10, 2013

Anyone else do writing workshop?

I'm setting it up in my class, but this is my first year in elementary (middle school previously). I know teachers who have writing workshop once a week, while others had it almost daily.

How often do you have writing workshop in your class? How much time do you dedicate to it? Any particular reason?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Sep 10, 2013

Just about daily. About 30-35 minutes. We are a workshop school...both reading and writing.

4. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Sep 10, 2013

At least 4 days a week, usually 5, 30-45 minutes depending on stamina and time of year. Students need time to write every day and develop stories over time. My class, and most first and second grade classes, wouldn't remember what they were writing about and apply minilesson concepts if we only wrote 1-2 days a week.

5. peachacid

peachacid Companion

Sep 11, 2013

I'm starting writing workshop with seventh graders next week...I plan to start by spending about 45 minutes a day on it, and then in the future 30-35 minutes a day. We have a 90 minute block, so it will be easy to fit in that much time for it.

I'm a little worried...I don't think I've structured the lessons enough.

6. iteachbx

iteachbx Enthusiast

Sep 11, 2013

Every single day. 45 minutes.

7. live

live Companion

Sep 11, 2013