How often do you give tests/quizzes/assessments?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by ifightaliens, Aug 23, 2009.

1. ifightaliens

ifightaliens Rookie

Aug 23, 2009

I'm a high school English teacher. The curriculum is primarily based on short stories, as well as a few novels and a section on poetry.

After you announce a test, how long do you give students to study for it? Would a "Quiz every Friday" or "Test every two weeks" be prudent? Do you wait until you cover a unit or break it into chunks?

I had a problem last year with the students telling me that they either didn't have enough time to study, or that they had too much time and they forgot the material.

Now, perhaps this just means that "We didn't study because we didn't feel like it" :p but I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and say that I could use some pointers on pacing and structuring.

3. Ron6103

Ron6103 Habitué

Aug 23, 2009

I give my students a unit plan which tells them the date of the test on the very first day of a given unit. And while that date is subject to change, it rarely does for me. My units are about 2-2.5 weeks long, so they have 2 weeks notice for each test.

4. SciTeacherNY

SciTeacherNY Companion

Aug 23, 2009

I typically tell students 4-5 days before a test that there will be one. For quizzes, I give 2 days.

5. kidsandpups

kidsandpups Companion

Aug 23, 2009

I try to give a week's notice for tests, but quizzes are usually unannounced.

6. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 23, 2009

I test every 2 weeks, regardless of where I am in the syllabus. (My kids know exactly what to expect on each test, so that's not an issue.) On the first day of school I announce the test dates for the year, then remind them 3-4 days ahead of time.

I quiz once or twice a week, always announced the day before.

7. rachaelski

rachaelski Habitué

Aug 23, 2009