How often do you call in sick in a school year?

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by Jerseygirlteach, Apr 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Apr 18, 2013

Okay, again, I'm going to sound like I'm complaining about my paras but maybe I just need some perspective here. :blush: In my district, we get 10 sick days and 3 personal days. That seems like a lot, doesn't it? I could never have imagined that anyone could possibly need that many days when we only work 180 days/10 months out of the year. That's one sick day off per month plus 3 extra personal days to use throughout the year.

I have been a teacher for 3 years (not all at the same district). Over the course of those 3 years, I have taken a total of 6 sick days (5 because my children were sick and 1 because I was sick). I have also taken 4 out of my 9 personal days (none this year although I plan to take at least one or two before school ends in late June).

I have two paras. One has been out at least 25 times this year. Yes, that's right. I've been keeping a running, mental total. It's approximately once a week. The other has been out at least 12 times. I don't really keep tabs on the other teachers/paras so I can only speak for my paras absences.

So am I the unusual one? I feel extremely guilty calling in sick (not to mention the mountain of prep work involved). I had severe laryngitis for a week earlier this year and had virtually no voice at all. I still came in to work! (Some of the other teachers yelled at me, though) :lol:

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 18, 2013