How NOT to step on toes...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by SarahJ, Jun 23, 2008.

1. SarahJ

SarahJ Companion

Jun 23, 2008

You might have read that I got a position as a TA in a kinder class for the rest of this year (July - Dec). The teacher of that class is a first year teacher. I'm also a fully qualified teacher (and this would have been my 1st year if my exams had not been lost - sigh!) Anyway, I went into the class last week to observe. I was there from 7:30am till 11am. Out of those hours I also took a class for an hour (they had busy work) whilst the teacher was in a meeting.

I'm the kind of person who will take note of the situation and step in where I think I'm needed. Sometimes this can be bad (very bad! lol). I try VERY hard not to get in anyones' way, or take over, or seem that I am trying to do their job. Its just that my natural instinct is to teach so I do!

For example - I was in the class just wandering around during the early morning indoor free play (7 - 8am). There were kids throwing things, shouting, running around, climbing on tables etc. At 7:45 the teacher told (shouted) them they had 5 minutes left. 5 minutes later, she told them (shouted over the noise) that it was clean-up. The kids just ignored her. She started cleaning up and the kids just carried on playing/colouring/throwing etc. Some did clean up, but only about 2 or 3 kids. It was now 8am, I went to the colouring table and told them that their teacher had asked them to clean up and I was going to count to 10 and I wanted their table clean and them sitting quietly. They looked at me funny but as soon as I started counting they started cleaning up and by 10, they were sorted! But there were still 3 other tables of 6 kids running around and playing so I enlisted the help of several kids, told them they looked like they were strong enough to help me and had them quick as a flash pick up the lego and toy off the floor and carry the boxes to their 'home'.