How much should I tip on a $38 haircut?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Peachyness, Aug 27, 2008.

1. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Aug 27, 2008

I'm clueless. Normally, I go to this one girl who charges $17 and I would tip $3. She hasn't been very good the last few times I went to her so I'm going to a more "hip, stylish" salon. They charge $38 and I really don't know how much would be a good tip. :confused:

3. cMcD

cMcD Groupie

Aug 27, 2008

I'd say around $7-$8.

4. uclalum

uclalum Groupie

Aug 27, 2008

I agree, about $7-8 dollars, especially if you plan to go back.

5. MissWull

MissWull Cohort

Aug 27, 2008

I'm not good with tips. I tip my hairstylist $10-15 each time and she charges me $30...but we know her personally and she gives me a little discount. So I feel as though I owe her a bigger tip.

6. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Aug 27, 2008

Wow! I only pay 10 on a 55 haircut.

7. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Aug 27, 2008

I usually add on 10 bucks.

I don't tip if I buy products from them ... that's okay, right? Not sure where I heard that was appropriate.

8. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Aug 27, 2008

I don't see anything wrong w/ $3-5.

(I tried out a new hairstylist last week. Most stylists charge $165 to do my hair: Highlights touch-up, blow dry, flat iron, & trim, but this new lady charged me $110. I gave her a $5 tip. The cost itself was enough.)

9. TemperanceFaith

TemperanceFaith Comrade

Aug 27, 2008

I always tip 20%, so 8.00. Occasionally I have tipped more if it was extraordinary.

10. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Aug 27, 2008

If I could afford a $38 haircut I could afford to tip, but since I can barely afford my $12 cut/$15 if she cut my daughter's bangs while I'm there, I don't tip. Call me cheap. Thank goodness I live in a rural area. I'd be scraggly if I had to get a hair cut elsewhere.

11. msaly

msaly Comrade

Aug 27, 2008

i would give about $8.

I normally do 20%.