How much reading?

Discussion in 'College' started by Coupon, May 13, 2010.

1. Coupon

Coupon Rookie

May 13, 2010

How much reading material do people think is appropriate for a college class. I'm a student myself currently, so I'm at the receiving end of all these reading assignments.

I raise this question to everyone here because I feel like that professors are assigning readings with some odd assumption that their class is the only class that students are taking during the quarter.

One of my classes requires us to read 4-5 documents that range from 80 to 140 pages each. If I had the time, I would do the readings, but the problem is that this isn't the only class. I'm in 2 internships, I have an extra curricular activity, a club sport, and 4 other classes I'm taking this quarter, so I really can't afford to sit down for 5 hours a day to read so many documents.

On top of all that, the professor doesn't even mention the readings in lecture, address any of the points brought up in the readings and they're certainly not on the tests. Yet he still wants us to write up a summary of the readings and turn those in at class. The readings are marginally related to the class subject matter, the class is Economics and the readings are about global warming. I can see where he wants us to get with the readings, but he doesn't actually talk about the readings at all, not even the TAs!

So, going back to my question, how much reading is really necessary for a college level class, and even at that, how relevant should the readings be?

3. WonderfulLife

WonderfulLife New Member

Nov 24, 2016