How much pay will YOU give up to get more jobs?

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by rnhung, Apr 15, 2009.

1. rnhung

rnhung Rookie

Apr 15, 2009

Hello,

I've been a sub for 5-6 weeks now (I'm still a newbie), and I've been reading a lot about lack of assignments, etc. What scared me most was on THE orientation day 6 weeks ago, the administrator told us that present substitutes were ALREADY complaining about the lack of jobs (why they chose to hire me I don't know).

And believe it or not, I have been getting 4 assignments every week through accepting it through the district's online system (SubFinder). There's never any jobs avail when I manually check, but given my programming background, I've made something that allows me to "check" the page for me.

So I was in bed last night, thinking... is there a chance I could market this AND make money out of it? Would you guys pay for something that gets jobs for you guys? I haven't thought too much about this (and I don't even know if its going to work even), but what do you guys think?

I know that the veteran subs may already have connections w/ the district and have calls 6 out of the 5 weekdays, but what about the others?

Thanks for reading.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 15, 2009

I think if this is a form of 'hacking' then it's best not to advertise that you have been able to over-ride the program and get in. First of all, sharing the info will now create all that additional competition for you, all vying presumably for the same few subbing jobs. Second of all, once the word 'got out' that you were able to somehow go around the system, you may find yourself 'banned' by the districts that are now employing you as a sub. I'd keep it to yourself.

4. palla

palla Companion

Apr 15, 2009