How much money have you personally spent on your classroom so far this year?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ZoomZoomZOOM, Sep 7, 2008.

1. ZoomZoomZOOM

ZoomZoomZOOM Devotee

Sep 7, 2008

I'm a first year teacher. I started buying things for my desk and reading area back in May when I was about to graduate. Then I started buying art supplies because I knew my students would use it. Then came the books for the classroom library - new and used. Then classroom posters, games, puzzles. :blush:

I'm two weeks in and I'm still buying things. My husband is going nuts. Yesterday he told me to quit using so much of our home printer ink for school stuff. :(

I've probably spent close to 1k since May on my classroom. :eek: How about you guys?

3. michelleann27

michelleann27 Cohort

Sep 7, 2008

Last year I spent that much if not more... This year so far about 400. And yes i use as much ink here as I do at the school. That is why I have my own laptop, computer, palm, two printers, just for the stuff I need and husband has his own. That way he can not get mad at me for using so much paper and ink. :)

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Sep 7, 2008

This year, I spent maybe $100-150. Last year (my first year), from August-June, I probably spent at least $1200-1500 (that is including money spent on book orders). However, I had a LOT of things I had collected over the year (especially books- but they were mostly picture books and I teach 5th).

I do not print ANYTHING at home. I refuse to.

5. Springdruidess

Springdruidess Rookie

Sep 7, 2008

I think I'm at about $200 so far this year (but that doesn't include the approximately $700 I spent last year as a sub buying things in prep for having my own classroom) AND - I'm not done yet. Only out of money. So I'm waiting for the next paycheck to get the remainder of stuff that I'd like - probably another 300-400. I think.

6. math_teacher

math_teacher Companion

Sep 7, 2008