how much free time do teachers really get?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by potato, Apr 25, 2007.

1. potato

potato New Member

Apr 25, 2007

This is just a survey. How much free time do teachers really get? Do you find that you're staying up nights grading papers or making lesson plans and you don't really have summers off? Or do you get your work done before 5 and go travelling during breaks?

I want to get the responses of high school science teachers in particular because this is the area I want to teach (I'm contemplating changing careers to teaching).

3. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Apr 25, 2007

I am an upper elementary science teacher and to be honest, most of my summer is taken with workshops (some that I attend and many that I put on). There also has to be time in there for getting the classroom ready, reviewing curriculum, etc. Yes, there is some time, but very few teachers that I know really get the entire summer break off. It's not a job that's going to necessarily lead to a ton of free time.

4. ms.jansen

ms.jansen Companion

Apr 25, 2007

Free time? I am a first year teacher, so yes, I do a lot of work at night and on weekends. I've heard it gets easier over the years, but I know there are a lot of really dedicated, more experienced teachers on this forum who put in as much time as any first- or second-year teacher if not more. I think it really depends on your personality, teaching style, and how much time/effort you put into the things you care about. The holidays and breaks are nice, but I still work 2000+ hours a year (minimum) just like any full-time job. Hope this helps!

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Apr 26, 2007

I'm high school math.