How much does GPA matter?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by wmubronco, Oct 8, 2009.

1. wmubronco

wmubronco Rookie

Oct 8, 2009

So I am finishing up and will be in the job market soon but I have a real concern that my GPA is too low (2.97). Any idea? Any advise or past experiences to tell otherwise? Also, how beneficial to be a member of the honor society for your major/minor?

Any help is appreciated, thank you.

3. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Oct 8, 2009

I have never been asked for my GPA or transcripts - only proof I graduated and have the certificates required. I think we have had a similar thread before and my experience was common.

4. darlibby

darlibby Companion

Oct 9, 2009

In Texas pretty much all online applications ask for GPA, I don't know how much of a bearing that is has though. Have you looked at the applications in MI? Do they even ask for GPA?

5. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Oct 9, 2009

In CA they don't seem to care. It isn't asked on the applications, at least the ones I've seen.

6. McKennaL

McKennaL Groupie

Oct 9, 2009

It is put on the on-line applications here.

I'll tell you... my ORIGINAL GPA was a little higher than average...and I thought that was the reason I missed out on some jobs my first round.

Returning to school I was nearly a solid A student (3.85). I thought THAT would carry weight...it doesn't seem that it has.

So...I don't know WHAT matters anymore!

7. darlibby

darlibby Companion

Oct 9, 2009

McKenna, I also had a 3.8 in college and it doesn't seem to matter.

8. McKennaL

McKennaL Groupie

Oct 9, 2009

Yup...

and how i thought it did.

I wouldn't have tried less if i knew...but I wouldn't have gotten my hopes up either.

9. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Oct 9, 2009

I don't think it matters that much.

10. flutetoot

flutetoot Companion

Oct 9, 2009