How much do you talk about school with your non-teacher friends/family?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Mr. Nobody, Feb 12, 2016.

1. Mr. Nobody

Mr. Nobody Rookie

Feb 12, 2016

How much do you all talk about work with your non-teacher friends and family? Do you think it's too much?

I didn't think i did it too much, but a family member made a comment about it yesterday, which hurt my feelings.

I've been thinking a lot about that comment and that maybe I need to cease all school related conversation with friends and familia.

However, if I did that, my stress level would probably go through the roof because as an administrator, I don't really have a sounding board at work.

Most of the things that bother me are about other teachers, so I can't discuss them with my coworkers. I can talk to the other admins some, but Im still getting to know them.

Plus, even though they are all nice, I'm a lot younger, have much less experience, and they were all my boss for so long, that I sometimes still see them that way more so than as peers.

In some ways it'd kind of be like if a kid from your class became a teacher overnight. Even though you'd now be equals, they'd probably still see you as a teacher and you'd see them as a student for awhile.

Last edited: Feb 12, 2016
  3. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Feb 12, 2016

Probably more than I should. My mom is a teacher's aide, my sister-in-law is a teacher, and my grandmother is a retired teacher. So... teacher chat happens and it happens even if no fellow teachers are around.

4. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

Feb 12, 2016