How much do you spend out of pocket?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Teppiedoo, May 21, 2015.

1. Teppiedoo

Teppiedoo Rookie

May 21, 2015

Hi All,

I'm currently working at a wealthy private school. Anything I pay for out of pocket usually gets reimbursed (I know I am SO lucky!!)

However, next year I will be teaching in my dream position in a public school. :)

How much money do you guys usually spend on supplies and things out of pocket? Do you usually spend more your first year? Or is every year pretty constant?

THANKS!!

3. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

May 21, 2015

I'm at a charter. Everything I need, within reason, is supplied by either the school or parents. I buy a lot for my own wants, though. Baskets, organizational bins, chapter books, stickers, posters, workbooks... I have easily spent over $200 this school year. I am a really thrifty shopper, and I have purchased a ton of stuff. This is my first year, also.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

May 21, 2015

I claim the max on my taxes.

5. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

May 21, 2015

I spent well over $1200 my first year. I spent a little less as the years went on, though.

Even as an administrator, I fork out several hundred each year: staff breakfasts, teacher appreciation lunch, small gifts during Christmas, etc.

6. Teppiedoo

Teppiedoo Rookie

May 21, 2015

YIKES!! Ok, thanks guys...super helpful. :)

So do you just make sure you save every receipt?

7. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

May 21, 2015

I do spend out of pocket, but I try to make it my last result. I first try to hit up the principal, then possibly the PTO, then possibly the parents. I always ask parents (never demand) and usually most parents will donate if the $$$ is a small amount. I find that if I ask for more than $10, the amount of parents helping often declines. Therefore, I try to keep it to $10 or less/parent.

8. Teppiedoo

Teppiedoo Rookie

May 21, 2015