How much do you spend on your classroom per year?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Buckeye, Aug 3, 2005.

1. Buckeye

Buckeye Rookie

Aug 3, 2005

Granted last year was my first year teaching I spent close to $750. I thought this year was not going to be as bad. Boy, was I wrong. What do you all spend on your classroom per year? Does your school give you a stipend?

Meghan

3. AMK

AMK Aficionado

Aug 3, 2005

My 1st year I spent about 1,000 dollars. This year since I am going to a new school I wanted to get some things that I have been doing without for 4 years. I bought a lot of books on tape and big books on EBay. I still have to go to the teaching store and buy a few more things.

4. hanvan

hanvan Connoisseur

Aug 3, 2005

I spent a lot the first year maybe 1000+ who knows. I have tried to stop buying so much though. This year I have probably spent 400.

5. teacher62604

teacher62604 Companion

Aug 3, 2005

wow, that's a lot. My first year I probably spent a couple hundred. This year about two hundred.

6. AMK

AMK Aficionado

Aug 3, 2005

The reason I had to buy so much my 1st year was that there was nothing for me when I arrived. I wasn't taking over a classroom they had added an additional kindergarten class so I started from scratch. There were a few things for me but they were so old.

7. Brenda S.

Brenda S. Comrade

Aug 3, 2005

I only spend around $200. I just can't afford more than that. Most of my supplies come from garage sales, donations, or second hand. My neighbors and church friends know I am always looking for books and craft supplies.

I put my name on things I pay for myself. I may not want them when I leave, but at least I have the option. Besides, I don't have to inventory my personal property!

8. talk to me

talk to me Rookie

Aug 3, 2005

My situation is same as your TeacherChat Addict. In fact i started of buying first aid book just today. I love to buy things for my classroom.

9. teacher62604