How much "cutiness" can you do?

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by TeachCafe, Jun 14, 2015.

1. TeachCafe

TeachCafe Comrade

Jun 14, 2015

I did NOT expect a grade older than 2nd. At 7, they're still babies pretty much so the cuteness factor in what you can do with them and how they are works.

Before the end of the year, I went around taking pictures of other classrooms in my building getting ideas because I knew I'd get a general ed position eventually....but I never went to the 4-5th grade wings :eek: :help: my mistake so I have no idea how different their set up was. 3rd was cuteness central - a superhero theme, rainbow brite 101, hanging balloon things from the ceiling, whole group cute rugs in front of the room.

I have a book on the writing process I'm studying because 4th is a testing grade and here in TX they have the writing STAAR. ELA/SS has always been my ultra strong subjects so I'm in familiar territory.

But besides studying the curriculum my first thought is "YAY! I get to have a cute classroom now but I have no idea how "cute" I can make it"

4th grade is 9 and 10. What's my cuteness factor limit? Do colorful things annoy them? Do they still like stickers? Can I even do a colorful rug or is that beneath them age wise? Etc.

EDIT: I've been teaching sped for 3 years and cognitively even my 11 year olds were more like 6-7 year olds so stickers, colorful markers, scented stickers, high fives, and K-2 grade cutesy things went over real well.

3. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Jun 14, 2015

I can still do cute in 5th grade. I have a rug and do a ton of whole group instruction on it, as well as using it for center rotations. I used to have a themed room, but six years of safari finally got old. Now, I just have bright, complimentary colors (red, Aqua, yellow, lime green).

4. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Jun 14, 2015