How many type of activities do you have in your 'teacher toolbox?'

Discussion in 'General Education' started by riverdance85, Oct 6, 2013.

1. riverdance85

riverdance85 Rookie

Oct 6, 2013

I like to keep a list of different activities to help me plan. I am in my second year of teaching and since starting out with a small list of ideas that I mostly got from my CT during my internship, my list of ideas has bloomed to around 30 or 40 items. I am teaching HS Foreign Language.

Seasoned teachers, how many different types of activities would you say you have in your 'teacher toolbox?' Do you plan the same way I do?

Thanks!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Oct 6, 2013

I plan according to my content standards. I have freedom in how to teach standards. I typically integrate technology, coop learning, direct instruction, hands on Games, note taking, videos, songs...

4. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Oct 6, 2013

I'd love to see your list! I'm trying to find more and more things as I go. I try not to repeat any activity more than twice each semester.

I am also looking for quick activities that I can throw in at the end of a period if one class gets further along than another. Something short that looks like I planned it all along, lol.

5. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Oct 6, 2013

My "toolbox" for math is definitely much bigger than for language arts. I don't really keep a "stock list" of activities though, so I can't pinpoint exactly how many I have. I do like the idea though... having a list of different activities ready to "plug and play" would probably make it easier to get a substitute.

6. riverdance85

riverdance85 Rookie

Oct 6, 2013

Do you have the same classes every day? In my county, I do. I actually use some activities once or twice every chapter (7 chapters total= 2.5 weeks/chapter. Most get used only once or twice a semester.