How many times...

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by tiki7719, Sep 16, 2008.

1. tiki7719

tiki7719 Companion

Sep 16, 2008

Did it take you to pass the Praxis II for Social Studies/History or however it is categorized. I'm starting to study for it and I am already getting sick to my stomach that I'll need to take it numerous times.

Was the test harder/easier than you thought? Did you over study? Any insight would help please :)

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Sep 16, 2008

4. MrsTeacher2Be

MrsTeacher2Be Companion

Sep 16, 2008

I studied with the Cliff Note's study guide, and I was pretty well prepared. It really does seem like SO MUCH information, but the test wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. I bombed the first few sections and did pretty well on the second half. I needed like 140-something to pass, and got 174, but I think the score pretty easy, because I missed a bunch of q's.

This is the book I used:
    http://www.amazon.com/CliffsTestPre...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1221590320&sr=8-1

5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Sep 16, 2008

Cliffs books work for some test takers and don't work for others, and that's fine. tiki7719, if you've got a good bookstore nearby, you might want to spend some time looking at the options - could be that one of the other prep-book companies has something that will work better for you, or could be that you'll be happier with materials that review the content but aren't actually designed for test prep as such.

6. adventuresofJ

adventuresofJ Comrade

Sep 16, 2008

I passed the first try on both of them. I would check the single subject tests that will have more information. I would also check and see if your school has a study group.

7. tiki7719

tiki7719 Companion

Sep 17, 2008

thanks for the responses :)

as a test taker, i am mediocre. its more of a test anxiety than anything.

i forgot about the single test section..sorry :/

Good job to all that passed :)