How many of you waited to get your master's first?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by AKGrant, Aug 30, 2008.

1. AKGrant

AKGrant Rookie

Aug 30, 2008

I am in my last year of college and was all looking forward to getting a job right off the bat. Just an FYI...my husband is also in his last year of college for teaching too. Anyways, his mom made a comment to us yesterday that we should get our master's first (not teach our first year, just sub) while our financial aid was still good. that way by not teaching, our income would still be low enough to qualify for financial aid our second year of our master's program as well. But that would mean for another 2 years both my husband and I would still have lousy insurance, lousy pay, yadayada. Just curious what some of you professionals thought about this?

I mean yes getting my master's would be lovly, but also getting a decent paycheck instead of scraping by would be nice. What did some of you do? And for those of you who taught right away, did you wish you would have gotten your master's first?

3. Ms.Jasztal

Ms.Jasztal Maven

Aug 30, 2008

I did not wait, and actually, I am grateful for the experience I have been able to gain. I am maybe starting my Master's this January (or perhaps a little later in 2009). The experience I have gained has certainly opened my eyes to how well I can do in earning my Master's.

4. Samothrace

Samothrace Cohort

Aug 30, 2008