How many classes per day?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by sabrina84, Jul 20, 2008.

1. sabrina84

sabrina84 Rookie

Jul 20, 2008

Hello,

I am considering getting my teacher credentials in the near future, and have about a million questions. A lot of them have been answered by reading around on this forum, you guys are great!

I was wondering, how is the high school teacher's day usually structured? Do they teach all 7 periods with only a lunch break in between? Or do they get a period or two to grade work, prepare for the next day's lesson, etc?

Also, I am located in California and was wondering if anyone knows if it's possible to teach more than one subject in high school (by passing two CSET tests or otherwise). My major is a BFA in Photography and I'd love to be able to teach both Art and English. Is that a possibility, or should I pick one?

Finally, are teaching positions for art more difficult to find than other subjects? Obviously the art departments at most schools are smaller than other departments.

I hope I'm asking these questions in the right place. Thanks so much!

3. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Jul 20, 2008

You will find there are many high school schedules, block, 4x4, modified block, traditional . . . I teach a traditional 7 period scheudle. I teach 6 and have one prep hour no matter how many different classes I teach. For example, I will teach 3 different classes this year but still have only one prep.

Good Luck in your quest to become a teacher

4. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Jul 20, 2008

I am also on a traditional 7 period schedule. Here is the schedule I've had for 4 years:
    Period 1: CP English
    Period 2: English III
    Period 3: English III
    Period 4: English IV
    Period 5: Plan
    Period 6: CP English
    Period 7: English III

So, like INteacher, I have 3 different classes and 1 planning period each day.