How long is your ST?

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by MrsCheerio, Dec 20, 2008.

1. MrsCheerio

MrsCheerio Rookie

Dec 20, 2008

I was reading a post about paying student teachers and saw a couple mentions of ST teaching only being one term for some people. It made me curious about ST requirements in other areas. So, how long is your placement?

In my program, we have about 15 weeks of part time (2.5 days/wk) ST one term and 11 weeks full time ST the next term. Once finished, we'll be able to teach preK - 8th grade (in a self contained classroom).

3. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Dec 20, 2008

At the the college I graduated from, you have 80 observation hours and 20 prepracticum teaching hours going into student teaching. Then, student teaching is a full semester, 16 weeks full time in the same classroom.

4. tcherjen

tcherjen Comrade

Dec 20, 2008

Mine was about the same. I had 60 hrs in each practicum I-III and then did my 16 weeks in the same classroom.

5. Mrs. Q

Mrs. Q Cohort

Dec 20, 2008

My college does one semester student teaching. You do all day, every day from January to May or August to December, whichever your term is.

6. ReadytoTeach

ReadytoTeach Rookie

Dec 20, 2008

At the University of Alabama where I go, student teaching is only one term. We have one lower grades elementary placement half the semester, and an upper grades elementary placement the second half.
    Before student teaching, though, we have three semesters before that where we are in the classroom. We observe 40 hours the first semester, then teach 2 days a week (160 hours) the second semester, and teach 3 days a week (270 hours) the third semester. This is all before our student teaching.

7. CanukTeacher

CanukTeacher Comrade

Dec 20, 2008

I did 21 full weeks.

8. Elm512

Elm512 Companion

Dec 22, 2008

12 weeks.

9. adventuresofJ

adventuresofJ Comrade

Dec 22, 2008

my school has at least full 12 weeks required - more if your state requires more.