how long have you been looking

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by brandy, Aug 28, 2009.

1. brandy

brandy Rookie

Aug 28, 2009

This is my 4th summer looking, (a little embaressed to say that)
    and I feeel trapped in my current situation because
    I don't know what else to do besides teaching. I like
    teaching. I have been at my current job for 7 years (very low pay)and For the most part,No one stays longer than 5 years for
    various reasons (moving, new job, had a baby) and I seem
    to always still be there not moving on. People say "wow" when I say
    how long I have been there, I'd rather they didn't,
    like I should have moved on in my life in someway by now, even though
    I am sure they don't mean it that way. I don't mean to sound
    Like a whiner or ungrateful I just really had to get this off my chest.
    thanks

3. pinkteacher123

pinkteacher123 Rookie

Aug 28, 2009

I started looking before I graduated in 2007 and have had 2 interviews. It is very frustrating for me and I haven't even been looking for as long as you have.

I have a friend who just found her first job... and it's not even a full teaching position it is a year long maternity leave... and she has been looking for 6 years.

So don't give up... it will happen eventually, even though in the meantime it is really hard to deal with.

4. katrinkakat

katrinkakat Connoisseur

Aug 28, 2009

I've been looking around since I got a notice of non reelection in March. :) good luck all!

5. MrsA

MrsA Rookie

Aug 28, 2009

I put in my first application mid-March of this year. Still looking, though.

6. Teacher87

Teacher87 Rookie

Aug 28, 2009

Started applying in February... had a good number of interviews, but no offers.

7. Kangaroo22

Kangaroo22 Virtuoso

Aug 28, 2009