How long does it take?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by K-5_teacherguy, Aug 30, 2017.

1. K-5_teacherguy

K-5_teacherguy Companion

Aug 30, 2017

This is my first year teaching 1st grade, after two years in 5th, so it's been a big adjustment so far. For the most part, I have really enjoyed the change and I love my class so far. We're only on our 8th day of school and they've already made a ton of progress as a class. However, I have a couple of boys who CANNOT sit still in the carpet area. It's not really disruptive, but bothers me because I know they aren't getting much out of what we are doing when they're moving around like that (and I truly don't think they can help it).

I have a huge, multi-colored carpet with different squares for each kid. They all have assigned squares. We have modeled and practiced over and over how to sit correctly on the carpet, and in the squares. I praise the kids doing it right all the time, and I really try not to keep them on the carpet any longer than 10 minutes. But these two boys just struggle to sit still. So for any primary teacher, will this just improve over time? Or is there something else I could do to help these two? The majority of my kids have it down, but I really need something to help these last two kids out, so it is easier for them to focus when I'm teaching. Thanks in advance for any insight or ideas!

3. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Aug 30, 2017

Is there some kind of fidget, or way for them to keep their bodies "physically active" while sitting at the carpet? For example, I'll often have special cushions on chairs, or "rubber bands" around the legs of the desk that allow kids to be moving while stationary at their desk if that's a need of theirs.

4. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Aug 30, 2017